Special Thanks to the 2019–2020 Governing Board

By Heather Weck on June 17, 2020

As we close out another school year, I want to express my gratitude to the 2019–2020 Governing Board members. Each member is creative, inquisitive, and hardworking. I am proud to have had them as teammates throughout this school year, particularly because the last quarter of the term was such a challenging time.

To our outgoing members, I give a sincere thank-you for your dedication to the strategic plan, thoughtful approach to problem-solving, and positive outlook. Laura Celik, Lindsay Davis, and Sherri Rukes, AACT will continue to thrive because of you. Sherri has dedicated three years to the various presidential positions. She did so with a commitment and vibrancy that I strive to emulate. Her ability to network and connect others is inspiring. Because of her belief in the mission of AACT, I know Sherri will continue to work with members to promote great chemistry teaching; for now, though, Sherri, please consider taking a well-deserved break!

As July approaches and I end my term as President, I am excited to welcome Jesse Bernstein to the role. His experience, enthusiasm, and kind-hearted nature leave the 2020–2021 Governing Board in good hands. I look forward to serving with and learning from him for another year.

I am excited to video-meet our new Governing Board members this month: Jennifer Smith, Middle School Ambassador; Kathleen Dwyer, HS Ambassador; and Greta Glugoski-Sharp, President-Elect.

I would also like to express my appreciation for the AACT staff. They work efficiently, and—over the last few months, tirelessly—to bring us the excellent AACT resources and professional development members expect.

I look forward to more great things in the coming school year!

Regis goodeHeather Weck
President, AACT Governing Board